Skip to:

Postdoctoral Fellows

Postdoctoral fellows at the University of Michigan form a vital part of our intellectual and research strength. We welcome you as colleagues and offer the resources of the University as you build your career.

U-M Postings and Administered Programs

U-M Postdoctoral Job Postings

Search current positions by selecting “Research Fellows” from the Career Interest dropdown.

Michigan Society of Fellows

Eight fellows at the start of their careers in any academic or professional field are selected each year for three-year appointments.

President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program

Fellowships in science, technology, engineering, mathematics (STEM), economics, and political science fields, with faculty mentoring, professional development and academic networking opportunities.

Oberlin College / Kalamazoo College / University of Michigan Exchange Program (OK/U-M)

This collaboration allows U-M students in the humanities and humanistic social sciences to apply for postdoctoral fellowships at Oberlin and Kalamazoo.

MICHR Postdoctoral Translational Scholars Program (PTSP)

Designed to prepare individuals with a Ph.D. in a biomedical science or social science discipline for independent careers in translational research.

Job, Career, and Funding Resources

Outstanding Postdoctoral Fellow Award

Recognizes postdoctoral fellows at the University of Michigan who have demonstrated a breadth of excellence in all areas of research, teaching, mentoring, service, and leadership.

U-M Funding Portal

Funding opportunities databases (Pivot and SPIN) and other resources for finding funding.

NSF Specialized Information for Postdoctoral Fellows

A list of programs that provide either direct or indirect funding or that focus on educational development for postdoctoral fellows.

Versatile Ph.D.

The oldest, largest online community dedicated to non-academic and non-faculty careers for Ph.D.s in humanities, social science, and STEM.

National Postdoctoral Association

Provides a national voice for postdoctoral scholars to enhance the quality of the postdoctoral experience in the U.S.

ScienceCareers.org

Dedicated to matching qualified scientists with jobs in industry, academia, and government.

MyIDP: Individual Development Plan

A national online IDP from Science Magazine.

Below is a list of contacts from the University of Michigan’s schools and colleges who can assist current and prospective postdoctoral fellows.

Architecture and Urban Planning

Geoffrey Thun, Associate Dean for Research
gthun@umich.edu; 834-9385

Business

Francine Lafontaine, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Research
laf@umich.edu; 763-4233

Dentistry

Russell S. Taichman, Associate Dean of Research
rtaich@umich.edu; 615-1970

Education

Edward A. Silver, Associate Dean for Research and Community Engagement
easilver@umich.edu; 615-6580

Engineering

Dawn Tilbury, Associate Dean for Research
tilbury@umich.edu; 647-7030

Graham Sustainability Institute

Donald Scavia, Director
scavia@umich.edu; 615-4860

Information

Paul Resnick, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Affairs
presnick@umich.edu; 763-3569

Institute for Social Research

Open, Managing Director
Jane Ballo, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director
jballo@umich.edu; 763-3798

Kinesiology

Gregory Cartee, Associate Dean for Research
gcartee@umich.edu; 615-3458

Law

Daniel Halberstam, Associate Dean for Faculty and Research
dhalber@umich.edu; 763-4408

Life Sciences Institute

Anna Schork, Managing Director
meanna@umich.edu; 647-1407

Literature, Science and the Arts

Doug Richstone, Associate Dean for Natural Science
naturalsciad@umich.edu; 647-2115

Anne Curzan, Associate Dean for Humanities
humanitiesad@umich.edu; 647-2115

Liz Cole, Associate Dean for Social Sciences
socialsciad@umich.edu; 647-2115

Medicine

Michelle Swanson, Director of Postdoctoral Studies
mswanson@umich.edu; 647-7295

Music, Theatre and Dance

Marie McCarthy, Director of Research
mfmcc@umich.edu; 647-0557

Natural Resources and the Environment

Maria Carmen Lemos, Associate Dean for Research
lemos@umich.edu; 764-9315

Nursing

Janean Holden, Associate Dean for Research
holdenje@umich.edu; 763-7667

Pharmacy

David Sherman, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education
davidhs@umich.edu; 615-9907

Public Health

John Meeker, Associate Dean for Research
meekerj@umich.edu; 764-7184

Public Policy

Kathryn M. Dominguez, Associate Dean
kathrynd@umich.edu; 764-9498

Rackham Graduate School

Peter Hitchcock, Associate Dean
peterh@umich.edu; 936-1647

Social Work

Jorge Delva, Associate Dean
jdelva@umich.edu; 936-3898